2014 Laureates

The Kavli Prize recognizes scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas:

Astrophysics: the origin, structure, and composition of the cosmos.

Nanoscience: science at the atomic scale.

Neuroscience: science of the human brain.


  • Alan H. Guth
  • Andrei D. Linde
  • Alexei A. Starobinsky

“for pioneering the theory of cosmic inflation.”


  • Thomas W. Ebbesen
  • Stefan W. Hell
  • Sir John B. Pendry

“for their transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics that have broken long-held beliefs about the limitations of the resolution limits of optical microscopy and imaging.”


  • Brenda Milner
  • John O’Keefe
  • Marcus E. Raichle

“for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition."

Recognizing scientists around the world in the fields of Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience.

All Our Laureates

Search through our past winners and learn about their seminal discoveries:

Prizes & Laureates