Jump to content
Committees / 

2008 committee

2008 Kavli Prize

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics

  • Oddbjørn Engvold (Chair), University of Oslo, Norway
  • Reinhard Genzel, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany
  • Wallace L.W. Sargent, California Institute of Technology, USA
  • Harvey Tananbaum, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, USA
  • Scott Tremaine, Institute for Advanced Study, USA

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience

  • Arne Skjeltorp (Chair), University of Oslo, Norway
  • Chunli Bai, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Institute of Chemistry, China
  • Mostafa A El-Sayed, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Klaus von Klitzing, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany
  • Cherry Murray, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

  • Jon Storm-Mathisen (Chair), University of Oslo, Norway
  • Linda Buck, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA
  • Jean-Pierre Changeux, Institut Pasteur, France
  • Eric Kandel, Columbia University, USA
  • Bert Sakmann, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany